Time to Give Thanks.

cokethanksgivingjpg

I'm thankful Coke has such incredible vintage ads. This one's from the 40's.

Today is Thanksgiving… and every year, as my family gathers for the great feast, my mother always makes us go around the table and say things that we’re thankful for. It was an assignment that I dreaded in my teenage years, one that I tried to approach philosophically while in college, and one that I’ve grown to love and appreciate as I’ve gotten older. So, in the spirit of the great Atlanta writer Furman Bisher, I share these things not only with my immediate family and our significant others, but with you.

I’m thankful to have a family that I always look forward to seeing, no matter the occasion. I’m thankful for such a beautiful fall this year. I’m thankful to have a supportive and optimistic cast of characters surrounding me, especially during transition times. I’m thankful I made it to age 30, and am in (relatively) good health. I’m thankful I live in America, where the impossible can into the reality. I’m thankful for the way I was raised. I’m thankful to have the chance to share my hopes and dreams with someone I love. I’m thankful for the Buford Highway Adventure Club. I’m thankful that my grizzly old grandfather is still alive, and that he has softened in his old age. I’m thankful for Sunday Dinners at the Ianacone household … despite the fact that I will forever be jaded when it comes to Italian cooking. I’m thankful for the opportunity to contribute to the Masters Tournament. I’m thankful to have close friends that seem to inspire me every day, and never let me down in the process.

Finally, I’m thankful to have the opportunity to share this. Happy Thanksgiving to you, and yours. -JB

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Arts & Culture, Philosophy

Leave a Reply

