Decorating Inspiration: Vintage Maps

This belongs in my house, and in my heart.

It takes one look at a map of the United States to get me excited. Why? Not only is it fun to get a sense of scope (whoa, Texas really IS huge), but they’re a blueprint for potential exploration and adventure.

When I was 10 years old my family took a trip to Denver, Colorado for my Uncle Steve’s wedding. It was the first time I had been west of the Mississippi, and I can still remember standing in the Birmingham airport looking at a map and feeling this huge rush because later that day (!) we would be touching down amid the mountains of west. What a concept: this morning we were in the muggy south, but by afternoon we’d be in the cool dry air of the Rockies. It was a euphoric moment.  

When thinking about how to bring that type of magic into the home, I’ve turned to vintage, pull-down maps (elementary school-style). They bring a touch of warmth and youthful familiarity while adding a big pop of color and charisma to any wall. And, they’re fun to stare at while pondering your next escape.

While I love all kinds of interior accessories, few deliver the child-like sense of adventure like these maps do. And I think it’s safe to say … everyone could use a little more of that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Design, Travel

Leave a Reply

